Hotline: +49 (0) 7131 / 64938-0
Callback:
Inquiry list: 0 Articleinfo

Child Labour Free

 

"Child Labour Free" - what does that mean?

No child labour is used for cocos®- products!!!

We guarantee, that no children have to work to manufacture our products.

 

A large proportion of the products we offer are manufactured in Asia - unfortunatelly, child labour is still a topic in some of these countries. All our manufacturers guaranteed us and documented, that no work for their production is carried out by children.

For these documentations, Rainer Schubert, manager of cocos ®-promotions gmbh, visits the production sites in Far East repeatedly every year, unannounced, and also checks the situation of the workers.

 

 

We want to clarify this matter:
What is child labour?

Child labour includes all children working under the age of 14 years. Yet, a difference has to be made between exploitative child labour and child labour due to cultural reasons. According to the ILO (International Labour Organization), exploitative child labour is:

  • slavery and debt bondage and all kinds of forced labour
  • work of children under the age of 13 years
  • child prostitution and child pornography
  • children used as soldiers
  • illegal work, like f.ex. smuggling drugs
  • work that endangers health, safety or morality, f.ex. working in stone pits, carrying heavy loads, or working long hours and night-work

 

The situation today:

According to UNICEF, 190.7 million children between the ages of 5 and 14 are working today, with the majority working in the agricultural sector, in small workshops, are street vendors or housemaids.

A lot of child labour is found in Asia, in the Pacific area, and in Africa south of the Sahara:

- Asia and Pacific area: 122.3 million
- Africa south of the Sahara: 49.3 million
- Latin America and Caribbean: 5.7 million
- Other regions: 13.4 million

 

 

In the 1989 UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC), the United Nations assured the rights of children to be protected against commercial exploitation. 2002, with the first World Day against Child Labour, an International Commemoration Day was established, that is now held annually on July 12th. Since 2003, child trafficking (slavery) is increasingly pointed out during this Commemoration Day.

 

In some areas, f.ex. in the south of India, another development regarding child labour has slowly started. There are some unions for child labourers in the meantime; but their goal is not the abolition of child labour, but a "more human employment" (more limited work hours, no hiding of child labour anymore, health protection, some better wages). Stronger are organisations of working children in some Latin American or African countries. They started to organise a worldwide children's movement and 2004, the first Youth Committee Meeting took place in Berlin.

 

In Germany, child labour is defined in the Young Persons Protection of Employment Act (JArbSchG): employment of children or young persons that still go to school full-time is not allowed, unless it is a legal exeption, f.ex. easy jobs for children of the age of 13 years and older. The employment of children for certain events can be authorised by the Trade Supervisory Centre. The employer then has to apply for an exception before the work of the child(ren) starts, it might contain obligations, instructions and/or conditions.

 

Fair Trade uses products for which child labour has been used, if Fair Trade itself has seen that the children, f. ex. regarding agriculture, have helped a little bit, without having been overburdened. (Daily Press)

Hotline: +49 (0) 7131 / 64938-0
Rückruf:
Anfragezettel: 0 Artikelinfo

Child Labour Free

"Child Labour Free" ‒ Was bedeutet das?

Keine Kinderarbeit bei cocos®-Produkten!!!

Wir garantieren, dass bei der Produktion unserer Artikel keine Kinder zur Herstellung der Produkte eingesetzt werden.

 

Ein Großteil der von uns angebotenen Artikel werden in Asien produziert ‒ leider ist Kinderarbeit auch dort immer noch ein leidiges Thema. Alle unsere Hersteller haben uns zugesichert und dokumentiert, dass bei deren Produktion keine Arbeit durch Kinder durchgeführt wird.

Für diese Dokumentationen besucht Rainer Schubert, Geschäftsführer bei cocos®-Promotions gmbh, mehrfach jährlich unangemeldet die Produktionsstätten in Fernost und überprüft hierbei die Situation der Arbeiter.

 

Wir klären auf:
Was ist Kinderarbeit?

Kinderarbeit umfasst alle Kinder unter 14 Jahren, die einer Arbeit nachgehen. Dabei ist zwischen ausbeuterischer und kulturbedingter Kinderarbeit zu unterscheiden. Als ausbeuterische Kinderarbeit gilt laut ILO (Internationale Arbeitsorganisation):

  • Sklaverei und Schuldknechtschaft und alle Formen der Zwangsarbeit
  • Arbeit von Kindern unter 13 Jahren
  • Kinderprostitution und -pornographie
  • Der Einsatz von Kindern als Soldaten
  • Illegale Tätigkeiten, wie z.B. Drogenschmuggel
  • Arbeit, die die Gesundheit, die Sicherheit oder die Sittlichkeit gefährdet, also z.B. Arbeit in Steinbrüchen, das Tragen schwerer Lasten oder sehr lange Arbeitszeiten und Nachtarbeit

 

Situation heute:

Nach Angaben von UNICEF arbeiten heute 190,7 Millionen Kinder zwischen fünf und 14 Jahren, die meisten davon in der Landwirtschaft, in kleinen Werkstätten, als Straßenverkäufer oder Dienstmädchen.

Besonders viel Kinderarbeit gibt es dabei in Asien, im Pazifikraum und in Afrika südlich der Sahara:

‒ Asien und Pazifik: 122,3 Millionen
‒ Afrika südlich der Sahara: 49,3 Millionen
‒ Lateinamerika und Karibik: 5,7 Millionen
‒ Sonstige Regionen: 13,4 Millionen

 

 

Die Vereinten Nationen sichern Kindern 1989 mit der UN-Kinderrechtskonvention das Recht zu, vor wirtschaftlicher Ausbeutung geschützt zu werden. 2002 wurde mit dem ersten Welttag gegen Kinderarbeit ein internationaler Gedenktag eingerichtet, der jährlich am 12. Juni stattfindet. Seit 2003 wird im Rahmen dieses Gedenktages auch verstärkt auf den Kinderhandel (Versklavung) hingewiesen.

 

In manchen Gegenden, etwa im Süden Indiens, setzt jedoch allmählich eine Neubewertung der Kinderarbeit ein. Dort gibt es inzwischen teilweise eine gewerkschaftliche Organisation der Kinderarbeiter; Ziel ist dabei nicht die Abschaffung der Kinderarbeit, sondern eine "menschliche Gestaltung" (beschränktere Arbeitszeiten, kein Verstecken der Kinderarbeit mehr, Gesundheitsschutz, etwas bessere Löhne). Stärker sind Organisationen arbeitender Kinder in einigen Ländern Lateinamerikas und Afrikas. Sie haben sich als weltweite Kinderbewegung organisiert und 2004 in Berlin ein Welttreffen durchgeführt.

 

In Deutschland ist Kinderarbeit durch das Jugendarbeitsschutzgesetz (JArbSchG) definiert: Arbeit von Kindern oder Jugendlichen, die noch der Vollzeitschulpflicht unterliegen, ist mit im Gesetz festgelegten Ausnahmen, beispielsweise für leichte Tätigkeiten für Kinder ab 13 Jahren, verboten. Die Beschäftigung von Kindern bei Veranstaltungen kann durch die Gewerbeaufsicht genehmigt werden. Der Arbeitgeber muss dann vor Beginn der Arbeiten von Kindern Ausnahmebedingungen beantragen, die mit Auflagen, Hinweisen und/oder Bedingungen versehen sein können.

 

Fairer Handel nimmt Produkte, an denen Kinder mitgewirkt haben, wenn er sich überzeugt hat, dass Kinder etwa in der Landwirtschaft unüberfordert etwas "mit anpacken". (Tagespresse)